Tuesday, May 1, 2012

SEE ME GROW by Penny Arlon and Tony Gordon-Harris

Arlon, Penny and Tony Gordon-Harris. See Me Grow. New York: Scholastic, 2012. ISBN 978-0545345132. Ages 5 and up.

Part of Scholastic’s “Discover More” line of books, which all come with a link and a code to read more and learn more from a downloadable digital book, See Me Grow shows the baby stages of several different kinds of animals. The first page outlines what makes the book a good choice for young readers – picture sequences, small words, and short sentences. What follows are 12 different kinds of animal babies and interesting trivia about each. The child reader will learn that baby bunnies are called kittens, that a foal can stand up and walk around within minutes of being born, and that baby birds are born blind, among other tidbits. Oddly enough, while puppies get a section, there is no mention of those other kittens, those of the feline variety.

This is a simple, easy-to-read book with straightforward facts. It’s a good start for a basic knowledge of baby animals. There is no mention of how babies are made, only that they come from either eggs or tummies. There are plenty of full-color photographs of cute baby animals along with fascinating shots of fish eggs and shark-egg-pouches. A nice little book for a kid who wants to know more about baby animals.

Jill Coste

No comments:

Post a Comment